You'll have a better experience on this website using a secure, up-to-date browser. Click here for information and instructions about updating.

Men's 2020 USTFCCCA Academic Awards Announced

Posted: July 16th, 2020
Tags: Athletics, Men's Athletics, Varsity Athletics, Track & Field

(Thursday, July 16; Sioux Center, Iowa) All-Academic teams for the 2020 NAIA Men’s Track and Field season were announced Thursday, July 16 by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).  Dordt earned the team honor and had eight individuals named All-Academic Athletes.  Dordt was one of four programs to have eight or more honorees.

Micah Brands (Sophomore; Chanhassen, Minnesota), Grant Brouwer (Freshman; Sibley, Iowa), Trey Engen (Freshman; Algona, Iowa), Anthony Ghiorso (Junior; Eagle, Idaho), Jebadiah Merkle (Sophomore; Chaska, Minnesota), Franklin Reinders (Junior; Sioux Center, Iowa), Eric Steiger (Sophomore; Lynden, Washington) and Matthew Van Eps (Junior; Prinsburg, Minnesota) earned the individual honor for the Defenders.   Van Eps was also named the NAIA Men’s Track & Field National Scholar Track Athlete of they Year.

To be named an All-Academic Athlete an individual must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale and must have met “A” or “B” standard in a Championship event. Athletes must also have completed two semesters at the certifying institution.

The Defender men had a team cumulative GPA of 3.4 and ranked 5th out of the 43 earning the honor. Teams must have at least a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale to be named an All-Academic Team.