You'll have a better experience on this website using a secure, up-to-date browser. Click here for information and instructions about updating.

Women's 2020 USTFCCCA Academic Awards Announced

Posted: July 16th, 2020
Tags: Athletics, Varsity Athletics, Women's Athletics, Track & Field

(Thursday, July 16; Sioux Center, Iowa) All-Academic teams for the 2020 NAIA Women’s Track and Field season were announced Thursday, July 16 by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).  Dordt earned the team honor and had eight individuals named All-Academic Athletes.  Dordt was one of six programs to have eight or more honorees.

Emma Bakker (Junior; Edmonton, Alberta), Jordan Bos (Junior; Orange City, Iowa), Mika Kooistra (Sophomore; Emo, Ontario), Bailey Nelson (Freshman; Sheldon, Iowa), Annika Rick (Junior; Bowerville, Minnesota), Anmarie Stuit (Sophomore; Sheldon, Iowa), Bethany Ten Haken (Freshman; Milaca, Minnesota) and Sarah Wensink (Senior; Sioux Center, Iowa) earned the individual honor for the Defenders.

To be named an All-Academic Athlete an individual must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale and must have met “A” or “B” standard in a Championship event. Athletes must also have completed two semesters at the certifying institution.

The Defender women had a team cumulative GPA of 3.67 and ranked 5th out of the 57 earning the honor. Teams must have at least a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale to be named an All-Academic Team.