You'll have a better experience on this website using a secure, up-to-date browser. Click here for information and instructions about updating.

63-66 Loss
  • 7:00 PM - Wednesday, February 20, 2019
  • Sioux Center, Iowa
  • Non-Conference Match



The Dordt College women's basketball team failed to hold on to a late lead and lost 66-63 to Hastings on Wednesday. 

The loss knocked Dordt out of the GPAC Tournament. 

A three pointer to start the game by Annie Rhinesmith gave the Defenders their only lead of the first quarter. Hastings responded with a 17-9 run and entered the second with a five point lead. 

Free throws from Rachel Evavold and Erika Feenstra and a three pointer from Rhinesmith early in the second quarter put Dordt on top 19-17. Back-to-back three pointers from Taylor Beacom and Kaitlyn Schmit gave the Broncos a four point lead. Dordt settled in and outscored Hastings 14-4 in the rest of the quarter go into halftime leading 33-27. 

The Defenders took a 10 point lead partway through the third. Hastings fought their way back and were trailing 54-50 heading into the final quarter. 

The Broncos tied the score at 56 just two minutes in to the fourth. It was back-and-forth over the final eight minutes. Two free throws from Beacom gave the Broncos a two point lead with thirty seconds to play. Jordyn Van Maanen was fouled a few seconds later and hit one of two free throws. 

Rhinesmith had a three point attempt with 17 seconds left to give Dordt the lead, but couldn't convert. Two free throws from Gabby Grasso sealed the victory for Hastings. 


Rachel Evavold led Dordt with 22 points and seven rebounds. 

Rachel Van Maanen had nine points and nine rebounds. 

Erica Feenstra scored eight points and three rebounds. 

The Defenders shot 17 percent from three and 36 percent overall. 


Mackenzie Willicott had 14 points and seven rebounds to guide the Broncos. 

Shandra Farmer had 13 points and five rebounds. 

Gabby Grasso added eight points and grabbed eight rebounds. 


The Defenders are waiting to hear if they will receive an at-large bid to enter the National Tournament. The field will be announced Wednesday, February 28.